He speaks…

It appears that the Little Dude is finding his voice. We haven’t had much yet but the other night the Big Dude was sat reading him a bedtime Peppa Pig story and all of a sudden in the cutest clearest little voice we heard ‘Peppa.’ Not once, not twice but over and over – my heart melted and I had a tear in my eye. 

Since they we have had attempts at hiya, hello, bye bye and baba (bedtime bear) – his treasured comforter. 

This is a really exciting time, we are watching and listening to everything he says and trying to encourage him as much as possible. At the same time  feel a huge amount of responsibility – how do I encourage this newfound skill? How do I/we help him develop his speech in the correct way? Is there a right or wrong? Is he speaking as much as he should be – I read posts on forums where 15 month olds have a vocabulary of 20+ and the little dude is no where near this.

We speak to him constantly, describe what we are doing, ask him questions and pause for a response, break words down, point to pictures in books and everyday objects and tell him what they are, we read to him regularly and he has piles of books that he is always looking through and ‘reading’ himself and we have been going to Tiny Talk – a baby signing class since he was 4 months old. I’m pretty sure we are doing the right thing but yet again I am hit by the constant questions – Am I doing this right? Am I giving him the best possible start in life? In speech? What can I do better? Is he on track? 

How did you encourage your little ones to start speaking? Anything I’m missing? 

Thanks for reading 🙂 

Leave a Reply

